Over 10,000 Criminal Cases Handled in the Denver Area

Experienced First-Time DUI Attorney Representation In Denver

Colorado has some of the most severe consequences in the nation for first-time DUI offenders. There are no second chances or slaps on the wrist for this offense, which is why you need an experienced Denver first-DUI lawyer on your side. At Shazam Kianpour & Associates, P.C., our award-winning lawyers have more than 20 years of experience defending first-time DUI clients, and we can help you, too.

What Are The Penalties For A First-Time DUI In Colorado?

Colorado’s drunk driving laws refer to DUI and driving while ability impaired (DWAI). The blood alcohol content (BAC) limit for DWAI is between .05% but under .08%; for a DUI, it is .08% or over. Anyone under the legal drinking age of 21 may also be charged with underage drinking and driving (UDD) for driving with a BAC between .02% to .05%.

The penalties for DUI increase in severity depending on the amount of controlled substances in your system and whether you have prior offenses on your record. Under Colorado Statute 42-4-1301(1), a first-time DUI is usually charged as a misdemeanor, but that does not mean the penalties are insignificant. A first-time DUI may have severe penalties such as:

  • Five days to one year in jail
  • Up to $1000 in fines plus court costs
  • Loss of your driver’s license for nine months
  • 96 hours of community service
  • Two years of probation

This is in addition to the increased insurance costs, reputational damage, difficulties finding employment due to your criminal record and other collateral consequences you may face.

Reducing The Sentences For A First-Time DUI

Courts often aim for lenience with first-time offenders. Many judges recognize that someone who has only one drunk driving infraction may deserve another chance before suffering severe criminal consequences. The district attorney may be willing to negotiate a plea bargain to offer a reduced charge or sentence in exchange for pleading guilty to a lesser offense, agreeing to drug or alcohol treatment, ing driving classes, doing community service or agreeing to probation. However, to get the best chance of reducing your sentence, you will need a Denver DUI lawyer.

How Can A Denver First-DUI Lawyer Help?

Our attorneys will take a strategic approach to each claim. Some of the options include:

  • Challenging the legitimacy of the traffic stop that led to your charges
  • Questioning the accuracy of an officer’s alleged observations at the scene
  • Challenging the accuracy of the BAC test that was used

When a case cannot be dismissed or there is a real risk of conviction, we may be able to successfully argue for your inclusion in a pretrial diversion program that will minimize the consequences of your charges.

Charged With A DUI In Denver? Call For Help

We work hard to protect our clients’ rights, and we offer experienced guidance and aggressive representation for first-time DUIs. Call us at 720-407-2582 or contact us online to schedule your free consultation and get started on your defense.