Shazam Kianpour & Associates, P.C. Shazam Kianpour & Associates, P.C.
Available 24/7 - Free Initial Consultation

June 2017 Archives

This time of year, one DUI campaign follows another in Colorado

Seasoned drivers in Denver and across Colorado are seldom surprised each year around this time when they suddenly become aware of a heightened police presence on streets and highways across the state.

How many points before you lose your license in Colorado?

As in most states, you risk losing your license if you fail to maintain a clean driving record in Colorado. In fact, points will be added to your driving record for every traffic infraction you receive — and if you get too many points, your license will be suspended.

'Slightest degree' can mean a lot with DUI charges

The language of law is one of nuance. Readers likely know the common standard under law for supporting a charge of driving under the influence is testing indicating the suspect's blood alcohol level is .08 percent or more. For drugs, the standards are less clear, but authorities still have legal leeway to bring impaired driving charges. To understand the implications of the difference in mounting a defense, it's important to speak with an experienced attorney.

Penalties for texting while driving increase in Colorado

Passed by the Colorado Senate in March and the House in April, Governor John Hickenlooper signed Senate Bill 17-027 on June 1 -- and, in doing so, dramatically increased the penalties for texting while driving in the Centennial State.

Colorado judge on breathalyzer certification snafu: "misleading"

Colorado readers who peruse our posts with some regularity might have had a strong premonition after consideration of an entry we wrote earlier this spring regarding a botched office process relevant to the charging and conviction of alleged inebriated drivers in the state.

Can I still be charged with DUI even if my BAC is less than .08?

If police stop you on suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI), you might think that you are safe from charges if a breathalyzer test indicates your blood alcohol content (BAC) is less than .08 percent. Well, in Colorado you can still face a DUI charge even if you blow less than .08 -- in addition to other possible charges.