As in most states, you risk losing your license if you fail to maintain a clean driving record in Colorado. In fact, points will be added to your driving record for every traffic infraction you receive — and if you get too many points, your license will be suspended.
However, it is important to remember that, in Colorado, point-related suspensions are based on age:
Drivers Under The Age Of 18 — Your license will be suspended if you receive:
- 6 points within a 12-month period
- 7 points or more at any time before turning 18
Drivers Aged 18 To 21 — Your license will be suspended if you receive:
- 9 points or more within a 12-month period
- 12 points or more within a 24-month period
- 14 points or more at any point after turning 18
Drivers Aged 21 And Older — Your license will be suspended if you receive:
- 12 points or more within a 12-month period
- 18 points or more within a 24-month period
Losing your license is easier than you think
For those who think it won’t happen to them, think about this: Under Colorado’s new texting law, you can get four points added to your driving record if you are caught texting behind the wheel. If you are under 18, this means you can lose your license after just two violations — or three if you are 21-years-old or older.
Some offenses that may result in a 12-point automatic suspension include:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Engaging in a speed contest (street racing)
- Driving 40mph or more over the speed limit
- Evading or attempting to evade a police officer
While these are a few of the more serious offenses that may result in an automatic suspension, there are several other offenses that, when taken together, can also lead to a suspension. If you have questions, you should always contact an experienced attorney.