Shazam Kianpour & Associates, P.C. Shazam Kianpour & Associates, P.C.
Available 24/7 - Free Initial Consultation

Underage drinking and driving is an issue in Colorado

It is interesting to note that Colorado laws do allow some underage people to consume alcohol. For the possession of alcohol, a minor can be in a private location with the consent of their parents and possess alcohol as long as the owner of property knows about the alcohol and consents to the activity. The same is true for the consumption and internal possession of alcohol.

Now, that doesn't mean that buying alcohol by minors is allowed. In fact, state laws don't make any exceptions to the law when it comes to minors purchasing alcohol. Instead, minors have to rely on people who are at or above the legal drinking age to furnish them with alcohol. This must be done at a private location and with the knowledge of the parent or guardian.

The activities of the minor after consuming alcohol are also important. Minors can be charged with drunk driving if their blood-alcohol concentration is only .02 percent. That is a much lower level than the adult level of .08 percent.

Minors who are in violation of the BAC limit face a suspension of their driver's license. This can be for up to 90 days. In some cases, public service might be ordered in these cases.

For people who aren't yet 21 years old, the temptation to drink alcohol is often great. When they give into that temptation, minors should ensure that they are prepared to get home without getting behind the wheel. If they do find themselves facing drunk driving charges, they should work to find out what options they have for minimizing the penalties that they will face.

Source: Alcohol Policy Information System, "State Profiles of Underage Drinking Laws - Colorado -," accessed Aug. 02, 2016

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information