A 55-year-old has the unfortunate and dubious distinction of being the first person in Pitkin County, Colorado to be charged with a felony drunk driving crime. The 55-year-old man was accused of the crime last Wednesday after he was cited for either his fourth or fifth DUI. The reason the number is unknown is because while the police cited one number, the prosecution cited another. In any case, the man has an extensive history with driving under the influence.
There is much we can learn from this story, and for our readers out there, the first thing to realize is that, until recently, Colorado didn’t have a felony DUI law for repeat offenders. Now, after three previous DUIs, the individual will be charged with a felony upon his next DUI offense.
Obviously, a felony charge carries immense penalties. Such a crime is a life-changer, especially if the individual in question does not have the proper defense to help him or her combat the charge. Sometimes, it isn’t necessarily about “winning” the case for the defendant. To the contrary, sometimes it is about damage control. In DUI cases, that damage control could save someone from spending a long period in jail, or it could minimize the time they are unable to drive in the wake of a DUI.
In this particular case, the 55-year-old faces up to six years in prison for his crime. If he goes to jail, his life after prison will be radically different. The struggle to return to society is very real, as finding a job or even a place to live can be trying and defeating. Don’t let this happen to you. Consult with an attorney to build your defense.
Source: Denver Post, “First-ever felony DUI arrested in Pitkin County,” Jason Auslander, Nov. 8, 2015