Shazam Kianpour & Associates, P.C. Shazam Kianpour & Associates, P.C.
Available 24/7 - Free Initial Consultation

Drunk Driving Charges Archives

Increased DUI enforcement for Halloween starts today in Colorado

If you are planning to go out and have a few drinks this Halloween, you better make sure you have a designated driver. Starting today (Oct. 27) and running through next Wednesday (Nov. 1), you can expect to see extra DUI enforcement on Colorado roadways.

Is hiring a proven DUI defense lawyer really a cost-efficient move?

Have you perhaps thought that you might simply opt to go it alone if you were ever stopped by a Colorado state trooper or police officer and ultimately arrested on a drunk driving charge?

You're about to see more -- many more -- police out on CO roads

When a Colorado media source refers to an imminently upcoming law enforcement initiative as "the most aggressive effort of the year to snag drunk drivers," that truly means something.

Which state has the toughest DUI laws? Where does Colorado rank?

According to a recent report by WalletHub, Colorado ranks 11th in the nation when it comes to which states have the strictest stance on driving under the influence (DUI). While Arizona received the top ranking, Colorado's placement in the 11th spot means The Centennial State takes a more aggressive stance on DUI than 39 other states and the District of Columbia (D.C.), as outlined in the report.

"Average" Colorado DUI conviction yields major loss of time

As a number of media sources have dutifully related over past months, the cumulative costs linked with a Colorado-based DUI conviction for any state resident are flat-out onerous, if not draconian.

Driving this 4th of July? Be ready for extra DUI enforcement.

The Colorado State Patrol (CSP), Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) and local law enforcement departments will be teaming up this Fourth of July weekend to target suspected impaired drivers.

'Slightest degree' can mean a lot with DUI charges

The language of law is one of nuance. Readers likely know the common standard under law for supporting a charge of driving under the influence is testing indicating the suspect's blood alcohol level is .08 percent or more. For drugs, the standards are less clear, but authorities still have legal leeway to bring impaired driving charges. To understand the implications of the difference in mounting a defense, it's important to speak with an experienced attorney.

Colorado judge on breathalyzer certification snafu: "misleading"

Colorado readers who peruse our posts with some regularity might have had a strong premonition after consideration of an entry we wrote earlier this spring regarding a botched office process relevant to the charging and conviction of alleged inebriated drivers in the state.

Can I still be charged with DUI even if my BAC is less than .08?

If police stop you on suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI), you might think that you are safe from charges if a breathalyzer test indicates your blood alcohol content (BAC) is less than .08 percent. Well, in Colorado you can still face a DUI charge even if you blow less than .08 -- in addition to other possible charges.