Covid-19 Statement

PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us in person, via telephone or through video conferencing. Please call our office to discuss your options.

Shazam Kianpour & Associates, P.C.
Available 24/7 – Free Initial Consultation
720-407-2582
Covid-19 Statement

PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us in person, via telephone or through video conferencing. Please call our office to discuss your options.

Shazam Kianpour & Associates, P.C.
A Proven Criminal Defense Team

People can still face marijuana-related charges in Colorado

On Behalf of | Oct 22, 2021 | Drug Charges |

Colorado was the first state in the country to legalize recreational marijuana use. Nevertheless, there are still rules. Those that break these rules will find themselves facing felony or misdemeanor charges. This can involve the use, possession, transport, sale, and other situations.

Top reasons for charges include:

  1. Driving under the influence: As with alcohol, it is illegal to operate a vehicle while intoxicated (more than five nanograms of THC in the bloodstream) by marijuana.
  2. Age: Consumers must be 21 years old to consume marijuana legally.
  3. Possession: Consumers can’t purchase, possess or transport more than ounces of marijuana, 8 grams of concentrates or 800 milligrams of THC at a time. Tourists are limited to buying one-quarter ounce at a time.
  4. Open consumption: Marijuana consumption is still illegal in public spaces, including such locales as schools, office buildings, restaurants, parks, as well as music, entertainment and sports venues.
  5. Federal lands: Marijuana is still illegal at the federal level, which means consumption in federally regulated places like national parks.
  6. Transportation: Marijuana must travel in a sealed container.
  7. State lines: It is illegal to drive or fly across state lines with marijuana.
  8. Distribution: Unregulated sale or distribution is illegal, and any amount sold to a minor is a felony with mandatory minimum sentencing of 8 years and fines up to $1 million.
  9. Illegal purchase: Licensed dispensaries are the only business entities allowed to sell marijuana legally.

Penalties will vary

Penalties for the above violations can range from misdemeanors with a small fine to felonies with mandatory minimums. The charges will depend on the amounts involved, the actions of those charged, and the criminal history of individuals charged. Minors will have separate guidelines for charges involving sentencing in juvenile court, which apply much smaller punishments.

While it may seem to make sense to pay small fines or not contest misdemeanor charges, repeat offenders will see penalties increase each time charged. So, it is often in their best interests to reduce the penalties when they can do it.

Archives

Share This