Because of how often we drive, the road can be one of the easiest places to get in trouble with the law. Even the safest driver can get pulled over, if they drive every day.
However, not every ticket is created equal. Reckless driving is a serious charge with particularly harsh penalties in Colorado.
How is reckless driving defined?
Reckless driving is defined as driving without concern for the wellbeing of others. Reckless driving is a slightly more serious charge than careless driving-driving without proper awareness of your surroundings.
An officer that pulls you over for speeding could charge you with reckless driving if they believe that you were speeding excessively and without regard for other drivers.
What are the consequences?
>Reckless driving can be a serious charge depending on your situation. For a first-time offender, a reckless driving charge can carry a 10-90 day jail sentence and a maximum fine of $300.
However, repeat offenders face harsher penalties still. A second conviction holds a maximum penalty of a 6-month jail sentence and a maximum fine of $1,000.
Furthermore, a reckless driving charge counts 8 points against you in Colorado’s DMV point system. This may lead to a license suspension which comes with additional costs.
Defending against a reckless driving chargeg
A charge does not necessarily mean a conviction. Some common defenses against reckless driving include:
- Disputing whether or not you were the driver
- Disputing the grounds for which you were pulled over
- And claiming that your driving was careless and not reckless.
The circumstances surrounding every case are different. However, the penalties associated with a conviction are almost always costly. Consulting with a Colorado criminal defense attorney can help you evaluate your situation and take the best course of action.