When it comes to drinking and driving in Colorado, a couple of letters can make a big difference.
Take these acronyms, for example: DUI and DWAI.
Say that you get a set of those letters attached to your name in a criminal complaint. Can you pretty much just shrug your shoulders and assume that, one way or the other, it’s not going to make much difference which acronym you get slapped with?
Either way, it’s about the same outcome every time, right?
Perhaps … in another universe.
In Colorado, though, the differences in outcome attached to a DUI or DWAI, respectively, can be stark.
The bottom line: A criminal charge of DWAI is preferable.
Notwithstanding that, though, it’s certainly not a charge to respond to with a fatalistic and resigned attitude, because the consequences of a DWAI versus a DUI conviction can often be quite similar.
Here’s some clarification, which comes from our Denver criminal defense website at Shazam Kianpour & Associates.
To wit: “Normally people will be charged with DWAI (driving while ability impaired) if they blow above a .05 percent and charged with DUI (driving under the influence) if they blow above a .08 percent on the Breathalyzer.”
For a person with a lower blood alcohol content, there is certainly the possibility that he or she will face less stringent criminal charges.
That is far from always being the case, though. As our site again notes, “both of these crimes [DWAI and DUI] can result in similar penalties.”
And those can be flatly severe in Colorado. A proven drunk driving-defense attorney can supply further information, as well as provide aggressive legal advocacy on behalf of any state resident facing a drinking-related charge.