Shazam Kianpour & Associates, P.C. Shazam Kianpour & Associates, P.C.
Available 24/7 - Free Initial Consultation
303-578-4036

Up against the wall

Perhaps you remember the classic rock song by Pink Floyd that begins with the line, "We don't need no education." The group railed in the anthem against being "Another Brick in the Wall." Some Denver drivers arrested for, and convicted of drunken driving might well feel the sentiment surging in them after they begin attending the mandatory Level I DUI education program.

You won't hear Pink Floyd or Taylor Swift or any other musicians there, however. You will hear instructors talking about the dangers of alcohol abuse and explaining how you can behave in order to prevent further offenses. It's all useful information, of course, and if listened to carefully and then followed, can help you avoid further legal problems.

The state of Colorado says on its website that Level I education requires you to complete 12 hours "over a minimum 3-day period, not more than 4 hours can be conducted in one calendar day." Clearly, there is no way to get the classes or group sessions all over and done within a day.

Level I is reserved for first-time offenders who had a low BAC (blood alcohol content). Level II therapy is for people with more than one DUI and for first offenders with a BAC of 0.17 percent or above. The classes and sessions are much more extensive in Level II, lasting a minimum of 21 weeks, with a minimum of 42 hours in attendance in total over those weeks.

As part of getting credit for finishing the courses, you must get a proof of attendance discharge. This is in many cases required in order to get a Colorado driver's license reinstated.

Experienced Denver DUI attorneys are available to discuss with you other possible punishments you might face, and options available to you for minimizing the penalties.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information