Acronyms seem to multiply faster and faster every day. While you might LOL at that statement, remember that KISS is a guiding principle in our social media-engulfed culture. However, IRL the acronyms are sometimes easy to figure out and at other times they make us ROFL or SMH.
One acronym some readers might be unfamiliar with: UDD. It refers to an Underage Drinking and Driving offense, and in Colorado, it is a serious matter. A person under the age of 21 can find themselves with legal problems if their BAC (blood alcohol concentration) is as low as 0.02 percent (the legal threshold for drivers 21 and above is 0.08 percent).
The state of Colorado says on its website that if you’re under 21 and your BAC is at least 0.02 percent but is below 0.05 percent, you could well be facing an underage drinking and driving charge. If your BAC is at 0.05 percent or higher, you will be receive the same DMV and criminal penalties meted out to drivers 21 years old and above.
A first UDD offense can mean a fine of up to $250, up to 24 hours of community service, and the potential for a court-ordered alcohol-use evaluation, education and alcohol treatment.
A second UDD can see the fine double, as well as add another 24 hours of community service and more court-ordered treatment, evaluation, education.
A third offense can mean jail time: 3 to 12 months behind bars, plus a fine of up to $1,000 and the mandated treatment, evaluation, education.
However, there are other laws that can also apply to underage drinking and driving offenses. They include MIP (minor in possession). MIP offenses can be punished by fines, community service, alcohol evaluation/education/treatment and again, possible jail time for a third offense or more.
Those facing UDD charges, or those with a child facing UDD charges, can speak with an experienced DUI attorney about available legal options.