Covid-19 Statement

PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us in person, via telephone or through video conferencing. Please call our office to discuss your options.

Shazam Kianpour & Associates, P.C.
Available 24/7 – Free Initial Consultation
303-578-4036
Covid-19 Statement

PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us in person, via telephone or through video conferencing. Please call our office to discuss your options.

Shazam Kianpour & Associates, P.C.
A Proven Criminal Defense Team

Preventing a Colorado DUI

On Behalf of | Oct 10, 2014 | Breath Test Refusal |

They say that prevention is better than cure. Benjamin Franklin phrased it a bit differently: “an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.” And the state of Colorado puts its own distinctive spin on the idea, stating that “every DUI is preventable.”

There are a number of experienced attorneys who represent DUI clients who would challenge that statement. They have seen that not all drunken driving arrests are valid. For instance, some arrests are made based on faulty evidence from a breathalyzer that has not been properly maintained or calibrated.

The driver in question is not actually impaired, but is arrested nonetheless for DUI. The flaw in the breathalyzer sometimes only becomes evident after an attorney has examined maintenance and calibration documentation. 

On a state website, Colorado’s Department of Transportation says prevention is all about making good choices.

One way to make good choices is to look at the state’s online BAC (blood alcohol content) calculator. After you enter your weight, gender, number of drinks and the period of time in which you consumed those drinks, it gives you a ballpark estimate on how much alcohol you might have in your system.

Remember, the legal threshold in our state is a BAC of 0.08 percent.

So if you’re a man who weighs 180 pounds and has had three 12 oz. beers in two hours, the calculator indicates that your BAC is 0.04 percent. If you’re a 120-pound woman who has had the same amount to drink in the same period of time, your BAC is calculated to be 0.09 percent: above the threshold.

You might be arrested for DUI and face harsh criminal penalties and loss of driver’s license as a result. A drunk driving defense attorney can explain the details of the legal options available to you.

Source: No DUI Colorado, “Preventing a DUI,” accessed Oct. 10, 2014

Archives

Share This