A Proven Criminal Defense Team

Consequences of Underage Drinking Driving (MIP in Colorado)

On Behalf of | Feb 18, 2014 | Underage Drinking and Driving |

You were at a party and had a beer with your friends. You were having a good time but decided to leave because you had to study for final exams. You jumped in your ride and headed home. You noticed the lights and sirens in your rear view mirror. The officer said he detected the odor of an unknown alcoholic beverage in your breath and asked you if you had anything to drink. You told the officer about the beer, a couple more questions, and a chemical test later – the officer gives you a ticket.

You are charged with Underage Drinking and Driving because you are not 21 years of age. In Colorado, “it is a class A traffic infraction for any person under twenty-one years of age to drive a motor vehicle or vehicle when the person’s BAC, as shown by analysis of the person’s breath, is at least 0.02 but not more than 0.05 at the time of driving or within two hours after driving.”

It’s a very serious situation. There are several factors which can determine the outcome of your case and you should immediately contact one of the best Denver DUI Attorneys to represent you, if you are actually in this situation. Generally, if you fall within the guidelines of the aforementioned law, the DMV can take your license for three months, be fined up $100.00, ordered to perform useful public service hours up 24 hours, and lose 4 points on your license. Other significant factors are your age, driving history, and BAC. For example, if your BAC is at or above 0.05, the penalties will substantially increase and may include the possibility of jail time. Additionally, some Underage Drinking & Driving convictions can be expunged. After the case is closed, a top notch Denver, Jefferson, Adams, Arapahoe, and Douglas county Criminal Defense Attorneys should review the case in its entirety to determine whether it falls within the guidelines of the law that allows it to be expunged.

If you find yourself in a situation where you are charged with Underage Drinking and Driving, or would like to know if your Underage Drinking and Driving Conviction can be expunged, you should call Shazam Kianpour & Associates for a free consultation today to retain an experienced criminal defense attorney to represent you and immediately start investigating your case. Call us today at 720-407-2582!