Over 10,000 Criminal Cases Handled in the Denver Area

Colorado Can’t Charge Defendant with DUI-Related Homicide

On Behalf of | Jan 24, 2011 | Vehicular Assault or Homicide |

“She murdered my son,” says one mourning mother who lost her teenage son last September. She is fighting for what she sees as justice following a fatal DUI crash last year that she believes happened not due to the sole irresponsibility of the driver but because of the adult who gave the underage teens alcohol.

Riding in the car that September night was a 22-year-old woman. She survived the alcohol-related crash and has also avoided being charged with the 16-year-old passenger’s homicide. The accident victim’s mom is not satisfied that only the teen driver has been charged with vehicular homicide. But, according to Colorado law, charging the adult woman with murder is not a valid option.

Reports cite an Adams County District Attorney, who says he understands the mother’s concern. He insists that the felony charge of contributing to the delinquency of a minor is all that the woman defendant can currently face in the state’s case against her. The maximum sentence for that charge is six years, and sources suggest that a judge could treat the defendant more severely by going with that maximum.

According to TheDenverChannel.com, no civil charges have yet been filed in this DUI-related case. The deceased teen’s mother could go for further charges that carry more weight over the future of the adult defendant.

We will post an update when there are developments in this case.


TheDenverChannel.com: “Passenger Accused of Providing Teens Alcohol,” Jaclyn Allen, 18 Jan. 2011