Shazam Kianpour & Associates, P.C. Shazam Kianpour & Associates, P.C.
Available 24/7 - Free Initial Consultation
303-578-4036

Costs to consider after a DUI arrest

We all know that law enforcement is out on Colorado highways to make sure drunk drivers are held accountable for their actions, but many people don't know about the costs that come with a DUI arrest. Indeed, the rumors are true. Drunk driving convictions can be expensive.

Through this post we will piece together the different events that can increase the price of a drunk driving arrest.

First and foremost, offenders may have to post bail to get out of jail. The cost depends on the crime charged and the person's background. A first time offender with no criminal history may be released on their own recognizance, while a person with a checkered past (and means to flee) may have to post a larger amount.

Of course, DUI convictions come with a number of fees and assessments, most notably a chemical dependency assessment. This can cost at least $100. Drivers may also have their license suspended. To get it reinstated, there's a fee. Again, this fee depends on the crime charged and the number of prior DUI convictions. Regardless, it can cost upwards of $500 to get a license reinstated.

Under Colorado law, drivers convicted of drunk driving may have to install (and maintain) an ignition interlock device in their vehicle for at least six months. This could add hundreds of dollars in additional fees. Additionally, offenders would be required to purchase SR-22 insurance, which is typcally more expensive than traditional insurance.

As one can see, a drunk driving conviction can be an extremely expensive experience, and the costs pale in comparison to taking alternate means of transportation when consuming alcohol.

Source: Maintstreet.com, The extremely high cost of a DUI, May 31, 2013