Colorado Motor Vehicle Theft is a serious crime and is usually considered a felony with serious consequences. More often than not, these crimes occur in the juvenile courts, and it is not uncommon for some kids to jump in a car, hotwire it, and take it for a joy ride. Unfortunately, the state doesn't think this is funny and if you are an adult, instead of a seemingly small penalty in Juvenile Court, you are looking at the potential of a lengthy prison term, a felony conviction, or perhaps both.
First Degree Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft Charges and What They Mean
There are two (2) basic classes of motor vehicle theft in our state. First Degree Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft is the more serious and though it is often charged as a class 4 felony (F4), it can sometimes be charged as high as a class 3 felony (F3) and can carry from 4 to 12 years in state prison with a five-year term of parole.
We Defend People in Arapahoe County Facing Second Degree Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft Charges
This crime is considered a less serious theft charge, and can sometimes be charged as a misdemeanor one (M1), but more often than not, it is charged as a felony 5, (F5) or felony 6 (F6) and similar to the more serious First Degree charge, these felonies can carry lengthy periods of incarceration to the Colorado Department of Corrections (DOC).
My girlfriend and I got in a fight, I took her car keys and left, and now I am charged with Felony Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft. What Now?
Yes the state can, and you are facing serious jail time, prison time, or a possible permanent Theft charge on your record. At Shazam Kianpour & Associates, we have are Criminal Defense Lawyers with over a combined 20 years of criminal defense experience. We are tenacious at what we do and we will fight for your record, your freedom, and your rights. We offer free and confidential consultations and hope you take a moment to call us so we can begin your defense today.