Colorado Attorneys Defending Clients Against Felony Theft Charges

Colorado law states that the amount of money or value of good stolen determines whether the theft charge will be a felony or a misdemeanor. The good news is that the state legislature recently changed the laws in 2013 and has made it more difficult for law enforcement to charge a felony Theft unless the amount of money or thing of value taken is extremely high compared to the standards that were in place before.

The crucial thing to realize however is that if you take multiple increments of money or a thing of value over a period of time, then law enforcement can add it all up and charge you with a felony theft crime in Colorado, even if each individual Theft was a misdemeanor. This is sometimes called Aggregate value and is the calculating method used by law enforcement when charging "Theft in a series".

Attorneys Who Know How to Fight These Serious Charges

As felony Theft Defense Lawyers in Denver, we have seen a large glut of economic crimes filed recently in Colorado state courts in Arapahoe, Denver, Douglas, Jefferson, Boulder, Adams County, and throughout the rest of the state.

We attribute this in large part to the failing economy and the fact that many people have been laid off from their jobs, or received pay cuts and lost their proper ability to pay for their families and mortgages.

We highly recommend calling a Theft Defense Attorney to get a better understanding of what options you have if you are charged. Don't turn one mistake into two, call Shazam today for a free consultation, and begin the road to restoring your rights and reputation at 303-578-4036.

There is a lot Riding on Your Case

The following is a list of felony Theft crimes, their values, and their potential penalties. Colorado Theft is charged as a:

  1. A class 6 felony if the value of the thing involved is two thousand dollars or more but less than five thousand dollars; This class 6 felony Theft (F6) can carry with it from 12 to 18 months in state prison (DOC) and carries a mandatory term of parole of 1 year.
  2. A class 5 felony if the value of the thing involved is five thousand dollars or more but less than twenty thousand dollars; This class 5 felony Theft (F5) can carry with it from one to three years in state prison (DOC) and carries a mandatory term of parole of two years.
  3. A class 4 felony if the value of the thing involved is twenty thousand dollars or more but less than one hundred thousand dollars; This class 4 felony Theft (F4) can carry with it from two to six years in state prison (DOC) and carries a mandatory term of parole of three years.
  4. A class 3 felony if the value of the thing involved is one hundred thousand dollars or more but less than one million dollars; This class 3 felony Theft (F3) can carry with it from four to 12 years in state prison (DOC) and carries a mandatory term of parole of five years.
  5. A class 2 felony if the value of the thing involved is one million dollars or more; This class 2 felony Theft (F2) can carry with it from eight to 24 years in state prison (DOC) and carries a mandatory term of parole of five years.

Call Shazam Kianpour & Associates, P.C., Today to Get Help

Theft crimes are serious. Get with the Denver legal team that takes your case as seriously as you do and experience the peace of mind that comes with knowing you have hired some of the best Theft Defense Lawyers in the business. We value family, community and second chances.

We understand that people make mistakes, sometimes out of desperation, and that doesn't mean that you are a bad person. Your defense begins here with a free consultation at 303-578-4036. Why us? Because when you need us, we are there for you.